Kathy Berry


I am from Clinton, Indiana where I took dance for 5 years from Mrs. Cooper in her living room. (Sound familiar?) My mom took dance classes for 8 years, so I played in her dance and pointe shoes before I took dance. I also danced Polka in many performances and parades in my Italian hometown’s festivals and events throughout my childhood. In school, I was a cheerleader, swimmer and played tennis. After college, I moved to Indianapolis to teach Family and Consumer Science in Franklin Township middle and high schools, where I was a Student Council Advisor and cheerleading coach. I retired in 2020 after 33 years, then could not stay away from teaching! I started substitute teaching to cover long-term positions in social studies, language arts and family and consumer sciences. Then Miss Katie had a position available to work at the studio and I knew it was a perfect fit. When I am not working, I am a lead volunteer at my church's nursery on Sunday mornings. I love children of all ages! I like sewing, crafting, and reading, but my favorite time is spent with family and friends, especially on vacation. At home, my husband of almost 34 years, and I love to visit family, drive in our sports cars, boat and travel. We are expecting our first grandchild in the fall and are the proud parents of two Stage 1 Performing Dance Company alumnae, Miss Alex and Abby. We have traveled to many competitions throughout the years and even a cruise during their time at Stage 1 Dance. Lastly, we have two dogs. Mr. Tucker and Miss Pearl. Tucker is a German Shepard mix human lover; while Pearl is an Aussiedoodle from North Carolina. They’re such cuties.